The Talkative Turtle

Do you know what a wisdom tale is? A wisdom tale can be any type of story but it has to have a moral. In the span of three months, we read twenty tales and we learned a lot about our world, different cultures, and new writing styles. 

After we finished reading some of the tales, Ms. Donnelly told us we were going to make a comic for our favorite tale.  So in early December, Brittain Peck helped us see how basic shapes can create long and detailed stories. For example, to make a person you just need a circle, four lines, and a triangle.

The next day we started to pick our tale we were going to illustrate. I decided to do the Talkative Turtle which originated in India. I chose this tale because I like its moral and I think it really is a great lesson for all ages especially teenagers. It’s so important for teenagers because so many people are so ignorant and talk so much. This tale really digs deep into how if your ignorant bad things can happen to you.

Once I picked my tale I started illustrating and figuring out how to say that long tale in a few sentences. To illustrate this I used sketchbook and then I put my sketches into Comic Life. Sketchbook helped a lot because you can use so many different tools and colors. One trick that I found that’s really helped is that you can add a photo in and then add another layer and draw an outline of the photo. After you do the outline you can delete the layer with the photo and finish coloring it in. Comic Life was also super helpful because you can plan your format and move all of the box’s around to create your vision. If you would like to use any of these apps click the links right here! ➡️ http://comiclife.com  https://www.sketchbook.com/

Leave a Reply